top of page

2019 VBL All-Star Team Announced

Rosters have been announced for the 2019 Valley Baseball League All-Star Game, which will feature the 25 best players from the North and South Divisions this season.

The 2019 Valley League All-Star Game will be held on Sunday, July 7 at James Madison University’s Veterans Memorial Park.

The Valley League will also be taking a traveling all-star team made up of some of the league’s top-rated prospects to the Southern Collegiate Showcase at the USA Baseball National Training Complex in Cary, North Carolina, on July 15-16. That roster will be announced later this week.

The North squad is comprised of players from Front Royal, New Market, Purcellville, Strasburg, Winchester and Woodstock. The South squad consists of athletes from Charlottesville, Covington, Harrisonburg, Staunton and Waynesboro. Each squad initially included nine pitchers and sixteen position players.

The North team will be managed by Strasburg’s Brock Moss and the South by Waynesboro’s Zac Cole. Managers of the rosters were determined by the highest teams in the standings at the conclusion of games through Friday, June 28.

Batting practice and autograph/photo sessions for young fans will take place from 3:10-4:45 p.m. The 60 yard dash contest will be held at 4:50 p.m. and the Home Run Derby is at 5:20 p.m. Player introductions will be at 7:15 p.m. with first pitch set for 7:30 p.m.

The evening will also feature the fourth class of the Valley Baseball League Hall of Fame, which will be introduced at 7:00 p.m. This year’s inductees were announced in April.

North Roster

C- Nick Toney, Strasburg (Florida Atlantic) C- Isaac Quinones, Woodstock (Miami) 1B- Jimmy Goldsmith, Winchester (Radford) 1B- Sonny Dicharia, Strasburg (Samford) 2B- Dylan Menhennett, Front Royal (West Florida) 2B- Masen Prososki, Winchester (Louisiana Monroe) SS- Jose Aquino, Purcellville (San Jacinto North) SS- William Escala, Woodstock (Barry) 3B- Carson Bell, Front Royal (JMU) 3B- Tre Dabney, Front Royal (JMU) 3B- Griffin Cheney, Strasburg (Georgia State) OF- Aidan Nagle, Woodstock (Lewis-Clark State) OF- Jonah Seagears, New Market (Virginia Tech) OF- Josh Cox, New Market (Louisiana Lafayette) OF- Caleb Ward, Woodstock (Norfolk State) OF- Tyler Johnson, Strasburg (Eastern Oklahoma State) RHP- Michael Anderson, Winchester (Oklahoma Wesleyan) RHP- Bryce O’Brien, Strasburg (Young Harris) RHP- Shane Scott, Front Royal (Arkansas Tech) LHP- Tristen Bayless, Woodstock (Houston) RHP- Sam Prince, New Market (Pasco Hernando) LHP- Travis Keys, Purcellville (Aquinas) RHP- Mason Kenney, Strasburg (Furman) RHP- Edwin Serrano, New Market (VCU) RHP- Seth Comer, Woodstock (Shenandoah)

South Roster

C- Wes Clarke, Waynesboro (South Carolina) C- Logan Amiss, Covington (VCU) 1B- Andrew Czech, Staunton (Walsh) 1B- Josh Madole, Harrisonburg (UNC-Greensboro) 2B- McCann Mellett, Harrisonburg (Wingate) 2B- Trey McDyre, Charlottesville (Liberty) SS- Kobe Lopez, Waynesboro (Florida International) SS- Kent Rooklin, Staunton (West Virginia Tech) 3B- Thomas Francisco, Charlottesville (East Carolina) 3B- Christian Torres, Covington (Maryland-Baltimore) OF- Jed Bryant, Harrisonburg (Wingate) OF- Logan Worley, Staunton (Young Harris) OF- Matthew Cocciadiferro, Covington (New Jersey Institute) OF- Jackson Tate, Waynesboro (Alabama Tuscaloosa) OF- Kirby McMullen, Charlottesville (Florida) OF- Domenic Boselli, Covington (George Washington) RHP- Calyb King, Covington (West Virginia Tech) RHP- Jacob Ferris, Harrisonburg (Eastern Kentucky) RHP- Lliam Grubbs, Staunton (JMU) RHP- McClain Harris, Waynesboro (Young Harris) RHP- Joe Sprake, Charlottesville (Elon) RHP- Alex Hoppe, Harrisonburg (UNC-Greensboro) RHP- Ron Brown, Staunton (Houston) LHP- Matt Mercer, Waynesboro (East Tennessee State) LHP- Antonio Balducci, Charlottesville (Richmond)

Home Run Derby Participants

Andrew Czech, Staunton (Walsh), Sonny Dicharia, Strasburg (Samford), Jose Aquino, Purcellville (San Jacinto North), Caleb Ward, Woodstock (Norfolk State), Jeremiah Boyd, Winchester (Presbyterian), Jacob Stanley, Purcellville (Chipola), Jed Bryant, Harrisonburg (Wingate), Ron Brown, Staunton  (Houston), Bryson Worrell, Waynesboro (East Carolina), Walker Imwalle, Charlottesville (Davidson)

This post originally appeared on All Things Valley League. Check them out for all news and updates related to the Valley League, a wood-bat summer league in Virginia's Shenandoah Valley.

219 views0 comments



bottom of page